Apple

How To Leave Group Messages On iPhone X, iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max And iPhone XR

We hate to break it to you, but, when it comes to leaving group messages on iPhone X, iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max and iPhone XR. It’s not as much about how to do it as it is about whether you can do it or not. You see, so far, you have probably enjoyed the ability to text with Apple and non-Apple users and to be a part of groups that contain both iMessage and SMS or MMS users.

All this mixing, however, is not going to get you the much-desired option of leaving a group, on the contrary! When you belong to a group chat message where there are both iMessage and SMS users, the rules are different. And we are about to explain it to you in a moment.

 

For now, you should remember these things for leaving group message on iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max, iPhone XR and iPhone X:

  • The action of leaving a group chat message, whenever possible, if put it into practice, it becomes permanent and irreversible;
  • The alternative of leaving a group chat message, which applies to the mixed groups we just mentioned above, is to activate the Do Not Disturb mode, which is reversible.

 

The second option is not only very convenient, but also flexible. You can get back to it anytime you change your mind and you can also use it on iMessage-only groups. The difference between leaving a group and just setting your status as Do Not Disturb are all about contact and control. With the first one, you completely lose contact with the group. Even though you no longer receive the annoying notifications from their conversations, you don’t have the control to return to it either, if you’ll ever want to do so.

The Do Not Disturb on iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max, iPhone XR and iPhone X, on the other hand, will let you be a part of the group but block all your notifications. You cannot tell what’s happening in the group unless you go and check for the conversation history yourself, but at least you can do that!

 

Now, are you sure you want to leave a group chat on iPhone X, iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max and iPhone XR?

  1. When you are decided, all you have to do is to launch that particular group message;
  2. Tap on the Details menu to access your main options;
  3. Locate the button with the Leave this Conversation title;
  4. Tap on it and you’re done with that group.

 

Normally, the Leave this Conversation button has that visible red font. If yours doesn’t or it’s entirely greyed out, it means you don’t have this option active for that particular group. The reason, as mentioned, is that it’s actually a mixed group. So, go to our next option.

 

Perhaps you just want to mute a group chat on iPhone X, iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max and iPhone XR?

  1. The process is relatively the same, as you need to return to the Messages app and select the group chat that must be muted;
  2. Within the Details screen, you should easily identify the Do Not Disturb option;
  3. Select that one and all the notifications will be blocked.

 

Whatever method you have used, you are now officially protected from getting unsolicited information from that group chat on the iPhone X,┬áiPhone XS, iPhone XS Max and iPhone XR. Even if you were forced to stick to the Do Not Disturb option, it would be just as if you have officially left the group. If you don’t check it, you won’t be able to tell that you’re still a part of it!

Leave a Reply

Close