If you have ever taken the time to closely look at the options of your iPhone Xs, iPhone Xs Max or iPhone Xr, you probably already have some questions in mind. For instance, when you need to permanently delete some photos, you’re back to asking yourself what’s with the Recently Deleted folder… Does it imply that when you delete an image you are actually not removing it from the iPhone? And if you’re not, where does it go since you no longer see it in the gallery?
To put an end to this conundrum, let’s outline the essential: the photos that you currently have on the iPhone Xs, iPhone Xs Max or iPhone Xr can be in one of the two folders from Photos >> Albums. Those folders are Recently Deleted and Recently Added.
Mistakes happen, photos are deleted without actual intention, and the purpose of this separation is to give you a second chance. In case you have deleted a picture without even knowing it… Or even in case you have deleted a picture but you have changed your mind afterward… The Recently Deleted folder will act as the Recycle Bin folder from a PC, but only for pictures. Whatever image you delete goes in there and stays in there for the next 30 days.
If, as suggested above, you change your mind in the next month, you can restore the photos from the Recently Deleted folder instantly. And this is the essential information for your question!
To delete photos permanently from iPhone Xs, iPhone Xs Max, iPhone Xr…
- When you go to Photos >> Albums >> Recently Added and you select and delete a file, you haven’t permanently deleted it;
- All images will go by default from the Recently Added to the Recently Deleted folder, once you did that and there’s no way to bypass this initial step;
- To permanently delete that photo, you will have to go to the Recently Deleted folder, select that picture once again (use the Select button from the upper-right corner and start tapping the photos you want to select);
- Then, repeat the Delete command (with the button from the bottom of the screen and the mandatory confirmation in the pop-up that will appear).
And this is the process that will ensure that your iPhone Xs, iPhone Xs Max or iPhone Xr deleted pictures are actually permanently deleted and not just transferred to the Recently Deleted folder on iPhone Xs, iPhone Xs Max and iPhone Xr! We know, it’s repetitive and, for some of you, it may be unnecessary. But the latter only applies when you were determined to get rid of some sensitive information. Wait and see how it feels to delete something by mistake and then hope that it’s still there…