Is it possible to delete a photo but to actually not delete it? The answer is yes, if you’re using any iPhone or iPad or other Apple device running in iOS 11. This is also the reason why you might have bumped into this question over the web – How can I delete all the photos from my iPhone or iPad in iOS 11 permanently? If you just considered it weird and moved on, looks like you could now use the answer to that question.
Let’s put your problem into an accurate context
The way that the new iOS 11 was designed, the Photos app has, right within the Albums section, only two main folders. They are suggestively named Recently Added and Recently Deleted. If you’ve never had the curiosity to surf through those folders, you probably didn’t know about it. But now you do and you can see that all the pictures that you take with your camera end up in the Recently Added section. And all the pictures you delete, instead of being permanently deleted, end up being moved into the Recently Deleted section. That’s where they stay for up to 30 days.
During that time, whenever you want, you can go to the Recently Deleted folder and restore particular files. This restoration will bring them back to the Recently Added folder, where you will keep them without any kind of restrictions. But if you do nothing else during those 30 days, by the end of that timeframe, all the content of the Recently Deleted Folder that is older of 30 days will be permanently deleted.
How to permanently delete the iPhone and iPad in iOS 11 photos?
We have already suggested one answer, though it may not be the most intuitive of them all. If you want to permanently delete a photo, suffices to do nothing for 30 days, after you have deleted it from the Recently Added folder.
The alternative is to manually delete those files from the Recently Deleted folder, which will lead to the immediate removal of the files. So, if you don’t want to wait, go to that folder, use the Select option from the upper right corner, tap on all the photos you want to permanently delete from your iPhone or iPad in iOS 11, and use the Delete button from the bottom of the screen. Confirm the action and that’s it.
Needless to say, if you had the photos in the Recently Added folder, you’ll have to follow the same steps in there first, which will move them to the Recently Deleted folder, from where you know what you have to do.