iOS

How To Delete Photos From iPhone And iPad In iOS 12 And iOS 11

Among all the great benefits that iPhone and iPad devices in iOS 12 and iOS 11 have, there are also a few weird features, to say the least. One of them is the way you can delete photos and these recently added/recently deleted options. It looks easy and intuitive, at first, but only until you discover that the pictures you have thought deleted are actually still on the smartphone or the tablet, with the sole difference that they’re now in another folder.

Of course, if you’ve been paying attention to how things work ever since you started to take pictures, you must have noticed where the recently added feature comes into play. The first time you make a photograph, it automatically goes straight into the Recently Added folder.

On the same principles, the first time you delete a photograph from your iPhone or iPad in iOS 12 and iOS 11, it just moves to the Recently Deleted folder, where it can stay up to 30 days! This is an entire month when your deleted pictures are not actually deleted, just out of plain sight. Only when the time is up the files are gone for good, officially and permanently deleted.

If this is the first time you hear about it, we can understand your frustration. It doesn’t make much sense to keep the device with so much on it, even after you have specified that you wanted to delete some files, just because you might have a change of heart in the meantime. And why 30 days? If you didn’t notice you’re missing a particular photo for so many weeks in a row, will you ever notice? Is it really necessary to keep the deleted photos in this folder for so long?

 

Helpful Articles:

 

You’re not going to like this either, but it doesn’t matter. It doesn’t matter what you think about it because that’s just how the iOS 11 works, on any iPhone or iPad. Like it or not, whatever you delete will follow this path, by default.

Now, we haven’t kept the suspense for so long only to tell you that much. On the chapter of how to delete photos from iPhone and iPad in iOS 11, you have bad news (the entire above) and good news.

The good news is that you do have the slight power of deciding when to clear the Recently Deleted folder. Otherwise said, your files will go there automatically, but you can make them disappear from that folder as well, without having to wait for 30 days.

 

Step 1 – delete the pictures from the Recently Added folder in iOS 12 and iOS 11:

  1. Launch the Photos app;
  2. Go to Albums – it should be somewhere in the lower-right corner;
  3. Do a manual selection of the files you want to be removed;
  4. Hit the Delete button from the bottom of the list;
  5. Confirm the action.

 

Step 2 – delete the pictures from the Recently Deleted folder in iOS 12 and iOS 11:

  1. Go to the Recently Deleted folder;
  2. Hit the Select option from the upper-right corner;
  3. Start selecting the photos you want to be permanently removed;
  4. Use the Delete button once again and confirm.

 

Now you can say that you know the answer to how to delete photos from iPhone and iPad in iOS 12 and iOS 11.

Leave a Reply

Close