iOS

How To Leave Group Chat On iPhone And iPad In iOS 11/iOS 12

Using a group chat is a good way to chat to a large group of friends during the same time. However, the bad part about using a group message is is that there may be a time where all the messages in the group chat have nothing to do with you but you get the annoying alerts. The great news is that there’s two separate methods you can use to leave a group chat messages or mute group chat for iPhone and iPad in iOS 11/iOS 12. Take a look at the guide below in order to learn how to leave a group iMessage chats and mute friends on the iPhone and iPad in iOS 11/iOS 12.

 

Leave a Group Chat in Messages on iPhone and iPad with iOS 11/iOS 12

For the people that use the iPhone or iPad in iOS 11/iOS 12 that would not want to participate in a group chat again, your best choice would be to just leave the group message completely. The method you can use to do this is to open a group chat on the iPhone and iPad in iOS and choose “Details” that is towards the top corner of your screen. After this, you will see information of the location settings, participants, and a overview of all the videos, audio clips, and images that are in the thread, Above the this section, you will notice a red button that says “Leave this Conversation”. Click that option to leave a group chat on the iPhone and iPad in iOS 11/iOS 12.

It is important to keep in mind that when you use this feature, you will not be able to rejoin the group message chat and and get messages in the future from this group. Also, the method will only work for group messages that with members that only use iMessage. A large group chat that has a combination with SMS and iMessage users will make the “Leave this Conversation” button grayed our or it will be invisible.

 

Mute a Group Chat in Messages with Do Not Disturb

A good amount of users of the iPhone or iPad in iOS 12 do not wish to leave a group message since you are interested in getting messages from the chat in the future. If this is the case, to keep yourself in the chat but not get notified, you will need to use the “Do Not Disturb” option to mute a group chat.

You are able to set the “Do Not Distube” feauture by navigating to Messages, open the chat you wish to mute, then Details. You should then scroll through the Details display until you notice “Do Not Disturb”. Click the button have enable it and you will not be receiving vibration, notification alerts, or sound from that specific group message.

A great feature of the “Do Not Disturb” option on the messages is that you can use this process for different types of group messages such as iMessage only, SMS only, or a combination of iMessage and SMS. Also, you are able to return to the message and look at the messages that might have been missed just in case you feel left out of a conversation.

Leave a Reply

Close