iOS

How To Leave Group Chat On iPhone And iPad In iOS 11

If you have many friends and you always enjoy talking to them, the Group Chat option available on any iPad or iPhone running on iOS 11 is a great alternative to literally any social network out there. While having all your friends in one place and sending messages that anyone can instantly see is a major advantage, there’s also another side of the coin.

Sometimes, maybe you don’t want to get notified about a message that someone else has addressed to one of the friends in your Group Chat.

You’ll see, not all the messages typed within such groups are of interest to all the members at the same time. When you’re not interested, you might consider leaving that group. But what do you actually want? To never be a part of it or to simply mute the messages you get, so that you won’t be disrupted by the notifications of incoming messages while you focus on something else?

 

To leave a group for good, you can try the following steps:

  1. Access that specific Group Chat;
  2. Go to its Details option, at the top-right corner;
  3. Select it and you should see a list expanding on the display;
  4. That list contains the name of all the contacts from the group, together with their location settings, previously attached videos, images, audio clips etc.;
  5. Identify the attachments section;
  6. Tap on the Leave this Conversation label from above the Attachments.

 

Doing all that will remove you from the group chat effective immediately. While you will be out of the group, you will no longer be able to return to it, nor to receive messages from the people in it.

If you don’t have this option, it can only mean that the group consists of mixed users of iMessage and SMS texting services. Otherwise said, if you followed these steps on your iPhone, iPhone Plus, or iPad in iOS 11 but you’ve found the Conversation button grayed out, you can only try our next solution.

 

To mute the notifications of your incoming messages:

Use the Do Not Disturb option!

This is the only thing you need to do and you happen to have this option listed right under the Messages app. Go there and select the message you want to mute. Tap on its Details and you will see the Do Not Disturb entry listed in there. Tap on that button and you have accomplished your mission. You remain a part of the group but you have decided to no longer receive any kind of audio or vibration notifications. Even the alerts from the Notification Center will be canceled.

From now on, if you want to see what your friends have been talking within a particular Group Chat on iPhone or iPad in iOS 11, you will have to open that group and scroll through the conversation history.

This is obviously not the definitive solution, but it is a great compromise option. It has the added benefit that it works for mixed group chats as well, not only on the ones made from iMessage alone or SMS alone users.

 

Leave a Reply

Close