iOS

Turning OFF Preview Messages On iPhone And iPad In iOS 11

Whenever you get a message, the iPhone or iPad in iOS 11 will let you know about it. Unfortunately for you, it’s not a simple “you’ve got message” kind of notification. It’s an actual preview of that message. And it doesn’t show up only when you’re actively working on the device, but also when you’re not, as it pops up on the Lock Screen.

 

Some users like it, others don’t. Some users think they like it until they stop and they realize that this can be a privacy concern. If you have the feeling that people are trying to see who’s texting you and what’s the content of your messages, this guide will show you how to turn the Preview Messages On or Off. From the Notification Bar of the Home Screen or from the Lock Screen.

 

The 5 steps that disable/enable the message preview on iPhone/iPad in iOS 11:

  1. Turn on the Apple device;
  2. Make your way to the Settings section;
  3. Select the Notifications menu;
  4. Access the Messages settings;
  5. Look for the Message preview option and tap on it.

 

That’s the place where you need to be, whether you want to disable or to enable this feature. You will see two options listed in there, one that controls the preview on the Lock Screen and another one that controls the preview on the Lock Screen and on the Home Screen. Obviously, if you select the latter, you are turning it off for good, completely!

 

You’ve started researching on the topic of how to disable the message previews on iPhone and iPad in iOS 11 to be able to keep your notifications and text messages private. With or without sensitive information communicated through any of these channels, now you can consider yourself safe. The preview is gone and the people around you will not be able to take a peek!

Leave a Reply

Close