For those that have an iPhone or iPad, you probably already know that group messages are a great way to communicate with lots of friends at the same time. There’s one big negative things about a group chat and it’s when you keep getting messages from a group chat that you don’t care about. Don’t worry, there’s a way to leave group message in iOS 10,3 for iPhone and iPad.
Below we’ll explain two different methods that will allow you to leave group chat messages or even mute group chat on iPhone and iPad in iOS 10.3. Just read the instructions below on how to leave group iMessage chats and even mute friends in iOS 10.3.
Leave a Group Chat in Messages on iOS 10.3
The first way that you can leave a group chat is to exit it and never be part of the group message again. You can entirely leave group chat by going to the group message that you want to leave in iOS 10.3. Then select on “Details” that can be found in the top-right of the screen. Now you’ll see a list of all chat people, location settings, and a quick summary of all videos, images, and other files that is in the thread. Now above the attachments section, a button in red says “Leave this Conversation” and by tapping on it, you’ll remove yourself from the group chat for good.
Again as mentioned before, once you leave the group chat using this method, you won’t be able to join the group message again in the future. In addition, this method only works for group messages that have all people using iMessage. For a larger group message with people on both iMessage and SMS, you won’t be able to see the Leave this Conversation button.
Mute a Group Chat in Messages with Do Not Disturb
Another way that you can avoid getting messages from the group chat with leaving is to Mute a group chat in iOS 10.3. When you do this, you can stop getting messages and then later rejoin the group chat if you want. If you want to do this, your phone number or Apple ID will still be part of the conversation, but you can mute getting message when you turn on the “Do Not Disturb” feature.
It’s possible to turn on “Do Not Disturb” by opening Messages, opening the message you want to mute and then tap on Details. Now go through the Details screen, until you see the Do Not Disturb button. Now choose this button to enable this feature. Once this is turned on, you will no longer get vibration, sound or Notification Center alerts for that group message.
One of the best features of the “Do Not Disturb” setting is that it’ll work for all different types of group messages. This includes those group chats that have a mix of both iMessage and SMS. In addition, if you join the group chat again in the future, you can still go back and read the messages that other people said in the group chat.